forio Toggle navigation

Team Administration

Teams are best suited for organizations that need to manage permissions for employees, clients, and others who are collaborating on a project. Teams are also required if you want to limit your project's access to only logged in users.

Each team can have an unlimited number of projects. However, depending on your Epicenter subscription plan, you may have a limited number of project end users, total storage, or total bandwidth available across your team's projects.

Team members contribute to developing the team's projects.

Read more about:

Creating a Team

Create and name your team so you can invite other Epicenter users to collaborate with you.

To create a team:

  1. From the Dashboard, select Create a New Team.

  2. Select your team's Subscription Plan.

    Each team subscribes to Epicenter under its own plan. The Small, Medium, Large, and Enterprise plans provide different amounts of project end users, computing power, storage, and bandwidth. The Small plan automatically starts as a two month trial.

  3. Each subscription plan includes a set number of DCU Hours. These Dedicated Compute Units include reserved processing power and memory.

    • Select Continue to have any additional usage automatically billed to you.
    • If you anticipate using additional DCU Hours, you can prepay for them to save money. Select an appropriate package. Prepaid packages expire after one year.
  4. Enter the Team Name.

    This is the formal name for your team. It appears throughout Epicenter and helps team members find your team. (It is not visible to end users of your projects, unless you specifically add it to a project's user interface.)

  5. Enter the Team ID.

    This is the unique identifier for your team. It cannot be changed, so choose with care. It is part of the URL from which end users will access your completed projects: forio.com/app/your-team-id/project-id. Your Team ID may only contain [a-z], [0-9], hyphen (-), or underscore(_).

  6. Select the Payment Method.

    Forio accepts major credit cards or can invoice your organization. All receipts are sent to the email address provided.

    For credit cards, the CVV is the card verification value. This is typically a three or four digit code located on the back of your credit card.

  7. Select the Billing Frequency.

    Monthly subscriptions may be paid via credit card. Annual subscriptions may be paid via invoice or credit card. Subscription plans are not refundable.

  8. Review your Purchase Summary and then enter your Payment Details information.

Managing a Team

Team members can contribute to any of the team's projects, for example by writing the model, creating the user interface, or participating in design or testing.

To add a team member:

  1. From the Dashboard, select the name of your team.
  2. From the team home page (Dashboard > [Team Name]), select Members from the left.
  3. Select Add Member.
  4. Enter the Email of the person you want to add to your team.

    • If the email address belongs to someone who already has an Epicenter account (e.g. for creating personal projects), that person is automatically added to your team, effective immediately. He or she appears in your list of Team Members.
    • If the email address belongs to someone who is not yet an Epicenter user, that person receives an email invitation. He or she must sign up for Epicenter first, using the link in the invitation, before being added to your team.
    • End users cannot be added as team members.
  5. Select the Role for the team member.

    • The Author role has ability to edit project content, settings, groups, and end users, and to invite additional team members.
    • The Customer Support role has the ability to create groups and add and delete end users.

To change the role of a team member:

  1. From the Dashboard, select the name of your team.
  2. From the team home page (Dashboard > [Team Name]), select Members from the left.
  3. Hover over the name of the team member.
  4. Select the Change Role link that appears in the list.
  5. Change the role and select Save.
    • The Author role has ability to edit project content, settings, groups, and end users, and to invite additional team members.
    • The Customer Support role has the ability to create groups and add and delete end users.

To remove a team member:

  1. From the Dashboard, select the name of your team.
  2. From the team home page (Dashboard > [Team Name]), select Members from the left.
  3. Hover over the name of the team member to remove.
  4. Select the Remove Team Member link that appears in the list.

Creating Team Projects

Team members collaborate to develop projects. See more on creating a team project on the Project Administration page.

Managing Groups and End Users

When you and your team members collaborate on projects, you can set up end users to access these projects. These end users can play with your project through the interface you and your team members create, but do not have project authoring privileges.

End users are organized into groups. You can add groups to each project, and add end users to each group. See additional details on Groups and End Users.

Managing Team Settings

Configuration and settings for your team are available from your team home page, Dashboard > [Team Name]. Select Settings from the left. The following Settings are available:

  • Name: The formal name for your team. It appears throughout Epicenter and helps team members find your team. (It is not visible to end users of your project.)

    • IMPORTANT: Note that updating your team's name does NOT change the Team ID. The Team ID is the unique identifier for your team, and is part of the URL from which end users access your completed projects; it cannot be changed.
  • Hosting Plan: Epicenter subscription plans are invoiced on a monthly or annual basis, as indicated by your Hosting Plan. To modify your plan, or for other questions pertaining to subscriptions, please contact us.

Deleting a Team

If needed, you can delete a team. From your team home page, Dashboard > [Team Name], select Settings from the left.

Select to Delete the Team. Once you delete a team, the team and all its projects are deleted forever. Your team subscription is also cancelled.